Quality care in aged care settings

There are several documents that explore the concept of ‘quality’ in Australian aged care settings.  These include:

  • The Charter of Aged Care Rights
  • Aged Care Quality Standards
    • Standard 1:  Consumer dignity and choice
    • Standard 2:  Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers
    • Standard 3:  Personal care and clinical care
    • Standard 4:  Services and supports for daily living
    • Standard 5:  Organisation's service environment
    • Standard 6:  Feedback and complaints
    • Standard 7:  Human resources
    • Standard 8:  Organisational governance
  • Mandatory Quality Indicator Program
  • Minimising the use of restraints
  • Serious Incident Response Scheme
  • Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety.

All government-funded aged care services must comply with the recommendations in these documents.  It may be useful for students starting a clinical placement in aged care to review these documents and complete a reflection activity that explores their understanding of:

  • Why these documents are important – for clients, for families/carers, for health professionals
  • How these documents affect the health service they are providing.

These documents can be accessed from the Australian Government Department of Health ‘Delivering quality aged care services’ webpage.



Was the information on this page helpful?