University placement information

University placement information

 

Each university will have resources to support you in your role as a Clinical Educator.  The resources may include a manual, course outline and practical resources to facilitate student learning.  Some universities allow access to additional resources electronically (online journals, discussion boards, electronic newsletters).  Another important role of the university Clinical Coordinator is to facilitate the process for resolving difficult situations during a clinical placement.

In this series of videos, Simone Howells, Griffith University Speech Pathology Clinical Education Coordinator, explains the ways that the university can help with pre-placement planning, the support that the university Clinical Education Coordinator can provide to Clinical Educators and when a Clinical Educator should contact the university to initiate early intervention with a student on placement.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Australian Catholic University

Speech Pathology

TBA – course commences 2014

 

Profession

Clinical Education Coordinator

Contact

Occupational Therapy

TBA – course commences 2014

 

Physiotherapy

Paul Miller

paul.miller@acu.edu.au

 

Bond University

Profession

Clinical Education Coordinator

Contact

Exercise Physiology

Glen Tunks

gtunks@bond.edu.au

Physiotherapy

Nikki Milne

nmilne@bond.edu.au

 

Central Queensland University

Profession

Clinical Education Coordinator

Contact

Occupational Therapy

Monica Moran

monica.moran@cqu.edu.au

Physiotherapy

Ken Chance-Larsen

k.chance-larsen@cqu.edu.au

Speech Pathology

Julie Hickin

j.hickin@cqu.edu.au

 

Griffith University  

Griffith University has a Placement Essentials website. The website details all the mandatory requirements the student must complete prior to starting a practice placement. 

Profession

Clinical Education Coordinator

Contact

Exercise Physiology

Beth Sheehan

b.sheehan@griffith.edu.au

Occupational Therapy

TBA – course commences 2014

 

Physiotherapy

Gary Kirwan

g.kirwan@griffith.edu.au

Speech Pathology

Simone Howells

s.howells@griffith.edu.au

 

James Cook University 

The James Cook University has developed the James Cook University Workplace Educator Package. The package is a comprehensive set of excellent resources to support Clinical Educators supervising James Cook University students on placement.  

Profession

Clinical Education Coordinator

Contact

Exercise Physiology

Rebecca Sealey

rebecca.sealey@jcu.edu.au

Occupational Therapy

Kerry Garbutt  

kerry.garbutt@jcu.edu.au

Physiotherapy

Aya Pellatt

aya.pellatt@jcu.edu.au

Speech Pathology

Louise Brown

louise.brown1@jcu.edu.au 

 

Southern Cross University

Profession

Clinical Education Coordinator

Contact

Exercise Physiology

Sonja Coetzee

sonja.coetzee@scu.edu.au

Occupational Therapy

Maggie Scorey

maggie.scorey@scu.edu.au

 

University of the Sunshine Coast

Profession

Clinical Education Coordinator

Contact

Exercise Physiology

Michelle Small

msmall@usc.edu.au

Occupational Therapy

Penny Taylor

ptaylor1@usc.edu.au

 

University of Queensland

The School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences has a website for Educators. The site details training and support for Clinical Educators hosting students from The University of Queensland. The School publishes a Clinical Educators Newsletter (CE News) that contains news and updates for Clinical Educators.

Profession

Clinical Education Coordinator

Contact

Exercise Physiology

Meagan Crabb

m.crabb@uq.edu.au

Occupational Therapy

Anne-Marie Caine

Wendy Davila

a.caine@uq.edu.au

w.davila@uq.edu.au

Physiotherapy

Ruth Dunwoodie

Sally McIvor

r.dunwoodie@uq.edu.au

s.mcivor@uq.edu.au

Speech Pathology

Lucy Hunter

Daniella Cain

l.hunter1@uq.edu.au

d.cain@uq.edu.au